Photo: Pat Bolduc

Photo: Pat Bolduc

The Acorn is the project of singer/writer/multi-instrumentalist
Rolf-Carlos Klausener.

Formed as a vehicle for Klausener's early improvisations and interests in regionalism, his songs mine the human condition, exploring the complexity of family, kinship, and the permutations of the heart. The project's releases have run the gamut from American primitive guitar and psych-folk, to art pop, balladry, and minimal electro. At its core lies Klausener's vivid and emotive songwriting. The project takes its name from Klausener's family shield which bears three acorns.

Emerging from Ottawa's underground in 2004, The Acorn has released five full-length albums, multiple EPs, has headlined tours worldwide. They've also been lucky enough to tour in support of artists like Bon Iver, Calexico, Fleet Foxes, and Elbow.

The project's albums and live performances have featured a rotating cast of remarkable collaborators, and currently features Martin Charbonneau (bass), Pascal Delaquis (drums), Seb Shinwell (guitar), as well as others.

Both their critically-acclaimed 2007 album, Glory Hope Mountain, and 2015's Vieux Loup were long-listed for Canada's Polaris Music Prize.